All about my mother: ‘It’s amazing what the living expect of the dying. We expect wisdom, insight, bursts of clarity’ | Meghan Daum | News | The Guardian

eople who weren’t there like to say that my mother died at home surrounded by loving family. This is technically true, though it was just my brother and me and he was looking at Facebook and I was reading a profile of Hillary Clinton in the December 2009 issue of Vogue. A hospice nurse had been over a few hours earlier and said my mother was “very imminent”. She was breathing in that slow, irregular way that signals that the end is near. Strangely, I hadn’t noticed it despite listening for the past several weeks months earlier, when her death sentence had been officially handed down but she was still very much alive, my mother had casually mentioned that she’d noticed this breathing pattern in herself and that I should be prepared to walk into the room and find her gone at any moment but apparently it was here now and when I reached the third paragraph of the second page of the Hillary Clinton article this remains imprinted on my brain; I can still see the wrap of the words as my eye scanned the column; I can still see the Annie Leibovitz photo on the previous page I heard her gasp. Then nothing more.

via All about my mother: ‘It’s amazing what the living expect of the dying. We expect wisdom, insight, bursts of clarity’ | Meghan Daum | News | The Guardian.

via All about my mother: ‘It’s amazing what the living expect of the dying. We expect wisdom, insight, bursts of clarity’ | Meghan Daum | News | The Guardian.

Leave a Reply

